## SECURITY COUNCIL REPORT Independent. Impartial. Informative.

## 2024 Chairs of Subsidiary Bodies and Penholders

OUNTRY-SITUATION OR HEMATIC MATTER	CURRENT PENHOLDER IN THE COUNCIL	CHAIR OF THE RELEVANT COUNCIL SUBSIDIARY BODY	COUNTRY-SITUATION OR THEMATIC MATTER	CURRENT PENHOLDER IN THE COUNCIL	CHAIR OF THE RELEVANT COUNCIL SUBSIDIARY BODY
fghanistan	Japan	José Javier De La Gasca (Ecuador; 2023-24) 1988 Taliban Sanctions Committee	Syria	Switzerland leads on humanitarian issues	N/A
rmenia/Azerbaijan	France	N/A	be considered political co-penholders and Ecuador and France humanitarian co-penholders, Russia has also drafted texts, and other members have been ad	Ukraine. While Slovenia and the US may	N/A /e
osnia and Herzegovina	Rotating on a monthly basis among members of the Contact and Drafting Group	N/A			
urundi	France	N/A	Yemen	UK	Joonkook Hwang (Republic of Korea; 2024-25) 2140 Yemen Sanctions Committee
entral Africa (UNOCA/LRA)	Mozambique and UK	N/A			
entral African Republic	France	Amar Bendjama (Algeria; 2024-25) 2127 CAR Sanctions Committee	West Africa, including the Sahel	Sierra Leone and Switzerland	N/A
entral Asia (UNRCCA)	Russia	N/A	Western Sahara	US	N/A
olombia	UK	N/A	Children and Armed Conflict	Malta	Vanessa Frazier (Malta; 2023-24) Working Group on Children and Armed Conflict
rprus	UK	N/A			
emocratic Republic of the Congo	France and Sierra Leone	Michael Imran Kanu (Sierra Leone; 2024-25) 1533 DRC Sanctions Committee			
PRK (Non-proliferation)	US	Pascale Christine Baeriswyl (Switzerland; 2023-24) 1718 DPRK Sanctions Committee	Counter-Terrorism (1267/1989/2253)	US	Vanessa Frazier (Malta; 2023-24) 1267/1989/2253 Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant (ISIL) (Da'esh)/Al-Qaida Sanctions Committee
hiopia/Tigray	N/A	N/A			
lan Heights (UNDOF)	Russia and the US	N/A	Counter-Terrorism (1373)	US	Amar Bendjama (Algeria; 2024-25) 1373 Counter-Terrorism Committee
eat Lakes Region	France	N/A			
inea-Bissau	N/A	Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett (Guyana; 2024-25) 2048 Guinea-Bissau Committee	Counter-Terrorism (1566)	US	Amar Bendjama (Algeria; 2024-25) 1566 Working Group
aiti	US and Ecuador	Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett (Guyana; 2024-25) 2653 Haiti Sanctions Committee	International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals	Sierra Leone	Michael Imran Kanu (Sierra Leone; 2024-25) Informal Working Group on International Tribunals
n (Non-proliferation)	US	N/A	Non-proliferation of Weapons of	Ecuador	José Javier De La Gasca (Ecuador; 2023-24)
q	US on Iraq; UK on Iraq/Kuwait	Samuel Žbogar (Slovenia; 2024-25) 1518 Iraq Sanctions Committee	Mass Destructions (1540)		1540 Committee
ebanon	France	Samuel Žbogar (Slovenia; 2024-25) 1636 Lebanon Sanctions Committee	Peace and Security in Africa	N/A	Pedro Comissário Afonso (Mozambique; 2023-24) Ad Hoc Working Group on Conflict Prevention and Resolution in Africa
oya	UK	Kazuyuki Yamazaki (Japan; 2023-24) 1970 Libya Sanctions Committee	Peacekeeping	UK	Joonkook Hwang (Republic of Korea; 2024-25) Working Group on Peacekeeping Operations
bya-authorisations to inspect essels on the high seas off the coast Libya	France and Malta	N/A	Protection of Civilians in Armed Conflict	UK	Switzerland and UK are co-chairs of the Informal Expert Group on Protection of Civilians
ali	France	N/A (The 2374 Mali Sanctions Committee was terminated on 31 August 2023)	Women, Peace and Security	UK on WPS; US on sexual violence in conflict	Sierra Leone and Switzerland 2242 Informal Expert Group on Women, Peace and
ddle East (Israel/Palestine)	The US is often seen as the lead, but various other Council members have drafted recent proposals on the issue.	N/A	Working Methods	Japan	Security Kazuyuki Yamazaki (Japan; 2023-24) Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other
yanmar	UK	N/A			Procedural Questions
malia	UK	Kimihiro Ishikane (Japan; 2023-24) 2713 Al-Shabaab Sanctions Committee	Climate Change and Security	No clear penholder	Switzerland (2023-24), and Mozambique (2023-24) are co-chairs of the Informal Expert Group
ıdan	The UK on Sudan, the US on Sudan sanctions	Joonkook Hwang (Republic of Korea; 2024-25) 1591 Sudan Sanctions Committee	For more info on our publications visit: <u>securityce</u> For daily insights by SCR on evolving Security Co	ouncilreport.org	eries at <b>securitycouncilreport.org</b> or follow
outh Sudan	The US is the penholder on South Sudan and South Sudan sanctions	Michael Imran Kanu (Sierra Leone; 2024-25) 2206 South Sudan Sanctions Committee	. <u>@SCRtweets</u> on Twitter.		
idan/South Sudan	US	Ν/Α	.		